|CURRENT STATUS AND LOCATION||YEAR LAST OPERATED||LIVERY|
|Operational||In Service||The MER Co Ltd Red/White/Teak|
Car No.6 was built by G.F.Milnes of Birkenhead and delivered to the island with its five classmates in 1894. The Car was delivered with Milnes plate trucks and ‘Mather & Platt’ electrical gear as in common with other Cars of the time. Passenger accommodation was made up of a saloon with two longitudinal benches (the slim interior giving the class their ‘Tunnel Car’ nickname) with a capacity for 36.
In 1903, No.6 gained Brush’ D’ trucks and air brake equipment as part of a fleet modernisation program increasing the Cars horsepower and reliability. It also received K12 Controllers in January 1946, replacing the previous K11 units. Following this, the Car saw few external changes until the 1960s, when the Car gained a central partition in the saloon, and lost its double cab windows and gated platform steps in favour of a single piece window and full height doors.
Following the formation of ‘Isle of Man Transport’ in the late 1970s, No.6 became unique in not receiving the ‘standard’ livery of the time, instead gaining a unique repaint into the 1930s livery, however with full ‘Isle of Man Passenger Transport’ branding in the traditional style! Fortunately this was corrected with the traditional ‘M.E.R.’ title during 1990. The Car was involved in an incident in July 1991 which damaged a cab end to the extent that a full rebuild was required – the Car surprisingly regaining its original two-piece window layouts to coincide with the 1993 M.E.R Centenary Celebrations. No.6 was refitted with single piece windows during it’s 2004-2006 overhaul following driver complaints about visibility issues.
Car No.6 underwent a full repaint into heritage ‘The Manx Electric Railway Co Ltd.’ livery for the 2017 season during the Winter of 2016/17,